When driving a lumber truck isn’t challenging enough

Lowell Sun

LOWELL — A lumber truck driver from Tyngsboro choked on a small chili from Wendy’s, lost consciousness, and crashed into a Lowell home Friday morning.

I would think that driving a lumber truck around the streets of Centralville would be tough enough.  But to throw in the added obstacle of eating while driving?  That is a skill to have.  And judging by the picture of the lumber truck inside a person’s house, I would say that this was a skill the driver did in fact not have.

Before you ask, I am not against eating and driving.  However, I do think you have to pick your meals.  The number one rule is that if the meal requires a utensil to eat it, then you probably want to have your lumber truck parked while you scarf it down.  I just can’t image attempting to throw down some chili while behind the wheel of a big rig.  What’s next?  Carving up a t-bone from Outback Steakhouse while driving through South Lowell?  Or a filet mignon when cruising the roads of Belvidere?  You know, which ever one is funnier.

~ by Scott on January 29, 2010.

4 Responses to “When driving a lumber truck isn’t challenging enough”

  1. “Choked on a small chili from Wendy’s” is inspired, and I’m hopeful that Jennifer Myers is appreciated for all that she does to bring life to these little stories. (Doesn’t mean I’m giving up my crush on Lisa Redmond, but I’m just sayin’).

    Love it.

  2. Not only can he not eat and drive, friggin guy can’t EAT period. Who chokes on Chili? (besides mr magoo here)

  3. In his defense it should be pointed out that Wendy’s chili is drinkable.

  4. I wonder whose insurance company is going to get stuck with the bill for the teardown and rebuild.

Leave a comment